ACS Cell Division Fellow Award

Awards and Fellowships

The ACS Cellulose and Renewable Materials (CELL) Division Fellow Award was established in 1983 to recognize the dedication, leadership, and enthusiastic service of Division members that has kept the CELL Division moving forward. The award is given annually and is sponsored by the Cellulose and Renewable Materials Division of the American Chemical Society.
The award consists of an individual plaque honoring the recipient’s contributions to the Division. 


Eligibility for this award is open to any current or past Cellulose and Renewable Materials Division Member who has made significant contributions to the activities of the Division. This includes, but is not limited to:

  • service as an officer in the Division
  • active participation in the development of program activities for the Division’s meetings

Selection Process

  1. In October, following the fall ACS meeting, the Awards Chair will solicit nominations for the Division Fellow Award(s) from current members of the Executive Committee and from any past officers.
  2. Completed nomination forms must be submitted to the Awards Chair by December 1.
  3. The Awards Chair selects 3 to 5 judges who make up the Division Fellow Award Committee.
  4. The judges rank the nominees.
  5. The judges will also indicate the number of awards that should be given with a maximum of three awards being possible in a single year.
  6. The Awards Chair announces the name(s) of Division Fellows at the Spring ACS meeting with the Award(s) to be given at the following Fall ACS meeting. 

Division Members Selected as ACS Fellows

Year   Awardee Institution
2017 Lucian Lucia North Carolina State University
2017 James Wang Sinopec Shanghai Research Institute
2015 Michael Serio Advanced Fuel Research Inc
2013 Orlando Rojas North Carolina State University
2011 Bob A. Howell Central Michigan University
2011 John Warner Warner Babcock Institute for Green Chemistry
2010 Helena L. Chum National Renewable Energy Laboratory
2010 Dennis W. Smith University of Texas at Dallas
2010 Attila E Pavlath USDA, ARS, Western Regional Research Center
2010 Alfred D. French USDA, ARS, Southern Regional Research Center
2009 Kevin J. Edgar Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
2009 Charles M. Buchanan Eastman Chemical Company

Home   |   About Us   |   Awards   |   Meetings   |   Resources

Vision and Mission
Inspiring bio-based solutions for a sustainable future.
Leading and supporting innovation in cellulose & renewable materials by providing a forum
for our members to excel in the chemical sciences and technology.

Scroll to Top